My day off today so I decided that I’d actually do something with my time and go see some scenery. 

This meant that at 7 30 this morning I was up and taking Laura to work so I could have the car for the day. 

Apparently the weather gods decided today is the day that Iceland finally gets some snow which would have been great if it hadn’t been for the fact that I wanted to drive around taking pictures. 

Never mind though, at 9 30 I left the house and started making my way to Þingvellir national park (inspired by Juliet’s recent blog from their trip which you can find here

 I arrive at Þingvellir at about 10:30 after a slow drive behind tourists who were scared of a little bit of snow, I wasn’t in any rush though it doesn’t get light until around this sort of time anyway. 
So I got to the park and I’m struck with an overwhelming dose of the can’t be bothereds, the only bit I really want to see is a waterfall right at the bottom and right now I’d rather just have a little sleepy in the car then go home. 

Fighting every muscle in my body I get out the car and walk towards a gaggle of tourists looking over a viewing platform, I tell myself that if I just take one photo from the platform then I can move on to Gullfoss which is the bit I really want to see. 

After a little argument with myself weather or not I’m going to pay the parking fee (I didn’t) I walk to the platform and see the walk way into Þingvellir and see that the waterfall I want to see is only 1.5km away, as I was already out the car and in the cold I decided to just suck it up and go for a walk. 

The following photos are from my walk, turns out it might have been worth it. 

I also took recored a video just because I wanted to play with my new phone 

After a brisk uphill walk back to the car I had a quick celebration because I’d won the not paying for parking game and then set off to see my favourite waterfall Gullfoss. 

Once I arrived at Gullfoss the first thing I see is a car has somehow come off the road on their way back up and they’ve put themselves in a ditch with no way out, there’s no one in the car though so it’s alright but it did put the fear in me. 

I got out the car and started taking photos but when I got home I’ve seen on the first shot I got a big snowflake to the lens which ruined all my pictures, I did take a video on my phone though. 

I went in the cafe to get some lunch, see when we first came to Iceland we came here and I had the most delicious lamb soup here so I was looking forward to repeating that experience. However once inside I see its 2000kr for a bowl which is far too rich for my liking so I turn on my heal and leave. 

I decide I should probably use the toilet before I set off so find the little outhouse to discover they want 200kr for the privilege! After a brief debate as to weather I could jump the turnstile i decide not to push my luck after getting away with the parking and hand over the money. The worst part is when I washed my hands I discovered the bloody hand dryer doesn’t work, I think if you’re going to have the cheek to charge for your facilities you can at least make sure the dryer works! 

The drive home was lest than pleasant as the snow and wind had picked up which made the car feel more like a roller skate but I made it home and nothing new fell of the car. 

Oh I almost forgot I also saw some sassy Icelandic horses on my way home. 


So there you have it my day. 

Good night